Nonprofit Organizations

While every nonprofit organization is unique, they all have certain shared legal needs and face many of the same issues.

In addition to navigating everyday business issues such as employment, intellectual property and contracts, they must comply with specific laws and issues related to being a nonprofit. In particular, the tax and compliance matters that nonprofits must adhere to can be a confusing maze for both large and small entities.

At Tonkon Torp, we understand that nonprofits have operational challenges similar to for profits, in addition to those unique to nonprofits. Our legal team is well-situated to provide a full array of legal services to nonprofit organizations and tax-exempt entities. We work with a diverse cross-section of industries and are proud of our long history of working with the region’s most respected private foundations, public charities, and other tax-exempt entities.

Our nonprofit attorneys represent:

  • Public charities
  • Private operating foundations
  • Pass-through foundations
  • Corporate and family foundations
  • Social welfare organizations
  • Social clubs
  • Trade and professional organizations
  • Fraternal organizations

Legal Services

Tonkon Torp creates individualized, multi-disciplinary teams to meet the unique needs of our nonprofit clients. Because we are a full-service business firm with nonprofit expertise, we are able to ensure that you have the comprehensive guidance and advice you need in the following areas:

  • Entity Formation – Selection of the appropriate structure, formation, and application to the IRS for recognition of exempt status
  • Governance – Board development, fiduciaries responsibilities, and risk management, including policy development (conflicts of interest, document retention)
  • Compliance – Private foundation special rules compliance, intermediate sanctions, lobbying, advocacy and political expenditures, and unrelated business income tax rules
  • Strategic Alliances – Joint ventures, mergers, and conversions
  • Grant-Making – Program-related investments, donor-advised funds, expenditure responsibility, and international grant-making
  • Fiscal Management – Investment and endowment management and distribution policies, structuring planned gifts, and planned giving programs
  • Employment – Advice/counsel employment matters; education, training, and proactive management practices; executive and employment contracts; employee benefits; executive compensation; volunteer issues
  • Audit – IRS and Department of Justice audits and approvals, including private letter ruling requests
  • Real Estate – Acquisition of real estate and office/equipment leases

Search Name Keyword
Last Name Alpha Select
  • All
  • A
  • B
  • C
  • D
  • E
  • F
  • G
  • H
  • J
  • K
  • L
  • M
  • N
  • O
  • P
  • R
  • S
  • T
  • V
  • W

Services + Industries

Services + Industries

Department

Department

Bar Admission

Bar Admission

Schools

Schools

Languages

Languages
Partner
Adam
Adkin
503.802.2187
adam.adkin@tonkon.com
Partner
Rachel
Atchison
503.802.5732
rachel.atchison@tonkon.com
Associate
Carlie
Bacon
503.802.2190
carlie.bacon@tonkon.com
Associate
Paul
Balmer
503.802.5745
paul.balmer@tonkon.com
Partner
Eric
Beach
503.802.2182
eric.beach@tonkon.com
Associate
Lauren
Bernton
503.802.2144
lauren.bernton@tonkon.com
Partner
Owen
Blank
503.802.2011
owen.blank@tonkon.com
3499, 3523
Partner
Ryan
Bledsoe
503.802.2120
ryan.bledsoe@tonkon.com
Partner
Jeff
Bradford
503.802.5724
jeff.bradford@tonkon.com
3505
Partner
Kristin
Bremer Moore
503.802.2154
kristin.bremer@tonkon.com
3561
Partner
Claire
Brown
503.802.5731
claire.brown@tonkon.com
Partner
Bob
Carey
503.802.2032
bob.carey@tonkon.com
3423, 3537, 3572
Partner
Paul
Conable
503.802.2188
paul.conable@tonkon.com
Associate
Sadie
Concepción
503.802.5773
sadie.concepcion@tonkon.com
3493
Partner
Timothy
Conway
503.802.2027
tim.conway@tonkon.com
3491, 3559
Partner
Sherrill
Corbett
503.802.2049
sherrill.corbett@tonkon.com
Associate
Timothy
Costello
503.802.2193
timothy.costello@tonkon.com
Partner
Clay
Creps
503.802.2059
clay.creps@tonkon.com
3501, 3569, 3495, 3574
Partner
Jeffrey
Cronn
503.802.2048
jeff.cronn@tonkon.com
Partner
Rocky
Dallum
503.802.2175
rocky.dallum@tonkon.com
Associate
Sam
DeBaltzo
503.802.5772
sam.debaltzo@tonkon.com
Partner
Justin
Denton
503.802.2117
justin.denton@tonkon.com
3531
Partner
Christopher
Erickson
503.802.2177
chris.erickson@tonkon.com
Partner
Michael
Fletcher
503.802.2169
michael.fletcher@tonkon.com
Partner
David
Forman
503.802.2023
david.forman@tonkon.com
3462
Of Counsel
Danica
Foster
503.802.2160
danica.foster@tonkon.com
3543
Associate
Will
Gent
503.802.5767
will.gent@tonkon.com
Associate
Olivia
Godt
503.802.2158
olivia.godt@tonkon.com
Associate
Stephanie
Grant
503.802.5736
stephanie.grant@tonkon.com
Partner
Ronald
Greenman
503.802.2006
ron.greenman@tonkon.com
3567
Partner
Gwendolyn
Griffith
503.802.2102
gwen.griffith@tonkon.com
3572, 3529
Partner
Drew
Hagedorn
503.802.5757
drew.hagedorn@tonkon.com
Associate
Mick
Harris
503.802.5765
mick.harris@tonkon.com
3535
Partner
Caroline
Harris Crowne
503.802.2056
caroline.harris.crowne@tonkon.com
Partner
James
Hein
503.802.2129
james.hein@tonkon.com
3447
Partner
Ted
Herzog
503.802.2033
ted.herzog@tonkon.com
Partner
Karen
Hobson
503.802.2136
karen.hobson@tonkon.com
Associate
Jarell
Hunt
503.802.5776
jarell.hunt@tonkon.com
Associate
Josie
Jeremiah
503.802.2146
josie.jeremiah@tonkon.com
Associate
Jordan
Jeter
503.802.2076
jordan.jeter@tonkon.com
Partner
Jeffrey
Keeney
503.802.2025
jeff.keeney@tonkon.com
3493
Partner
Albert
Kennedy
503.802.2013
al.kennedy@tonkon.com
Partner
Blerina
Kotori
503.802.2055
blerina.kotori@tonkon.com
Associate
Antonija
Krizanac
503.802.2038
antonija.krizanac@tonkon.com
Partner
Melina
LaMorticella
503.802.2122
melina.lamorticella@tonkon.com
Partner
Mark
LeRoux
503.802.2022
mark.leroux@tonkon.com
Of Counsel
Maureen
McGee
503.802.5726
maureen.mcgee@tonkon.com
Associate
Harlan
Mechling
503.802.5733
harlan.mechling@tonkon.com
3503
Partner
Parna
Mehrbani
503.802.2170
parna.mehrbani@tonkon.com
3497
Partner
Brenda
Meltebeke
503.802.2088
brenda.meltebeke@tonkon.com
3569
Partner
Michael
Millender
503.802.2164
michael.millender@tonkon.com
Partner
Max
Miller Jr.
503.802.2030
max.miller@tonkon.com
Partner
Christopher
Morehead
503.802.2035
christopher.morehead@tonkon.com
3525
Partner
Jessica
Morgan
503.802.2165
jessica.morgan@tonkon.com
Partner
Haley
Morrison
503.802.2121
haley.morrison@tonkon.com
Associate
Gracey
Nagle
503.802.5753
gracey.nagle@tonkon.com
3519
Senior Counsel
Janet
Neuman
503.802.5722
janet.neuman@tonkon.com
Associate
Danny
Newman
503.802.2089
danny.newman@tonkon.com
3511
Senior Counsel
Darcy
Norville
503.802.2036
darcy.norville@tonkon.com
Attorney
Steven
Olson
503.802.2159
steven.olson@tonkon.com
Partner
Turid
Owren
503.802.2045
turid.owren@tonkon.com
3525
Partner
Christopher
Pallanch
503.802.2104
christopher.pallanch@tonkon.com
Partner
Thomas
Palmer
503.802.2018
tom.palmer@tonkon.com
3509
Partner
Alan
Perkins
503.802.2127
alan.perkins@tonkon.com
3563, 3513
Partner
David
Petersen
503.802.2054
david.petersen@tonkon.com
Associate
Megan
Reuther
503.802.2174
megan.reuther@tonkon.com
3521
Partner
John
Rosenfeld
503.802.2010
john.rosenfeld@tonkon.com
Associate
Kate
Roth
503.802.2189
kate.roth@tonkon.com
Associate
Ferdinand
Ruplin
503.802.2029
ferdie.ruplin@tonkon.com
Managing Partner
Kurt
Ruttum
503.802.2043
kurt.ruttum@tonkon.com
Partner
Melany
Savitt
503.802.2179
melany.savitt@tonkon.com
Partner
Drea
Schmidt
503.802.5703
drea.schmidt@tonkon.com
Partner
Ava
Schoen
503.802.2143
ava.schoen@tonkon.com
3515
Partner
Jeanette
Schuster
503.802.2114
jeanette.schuster@tonkon.com
Of Counsel
Leon
Simson
503.802.2067
leon.simson@tonkon.com
3423, 3553
Partner
Dan
Skerritt
503.802.2024
dan.skerritt@tonkon.com
Partner
Josh
Smith
503.802.2191
josh.smith@tonkon.com
3574, 3545, 3547, 3555
Partner
Anna
Sortun
503.802.2107
anna.sortun@tonkon.com
Partner
Kimberlee
Stafford
503.802.2062
kimberlee.stafford@tonkon.com
Of Counsel
Darian
Stanford
503.802.2028
darian.stanford@tonkon.com
Partner
Jon
Stride
503.802.2034
jon.stride@tonkon.com
Associate
Samantha
Taylor
503.802.2042
samantha.taylor@tonkon.com
3462
Partner
Alex
Tinker
503.802.5734
alex.tinker@tonkon.com
Partner
Joseph
Voboril
503.802.2009
joe.voboril@tonkon.com
Associate
Alexandria
Wagner-Jakubiak
503.802.5748
alexandria.wagner@tonkon.com
Partner
Frank
Weiss
503.802.2051
frank.weiss@tonkon.com
3503, 3539, 3541, 3545, 3547, 3551
Partner
Steven
Wilker
503.802.2040
steven.wilker@tonkon.com
Partner
Michael
Willes
503.802.5737
michael.willes@tonkon.com
3491, 3559
Partner
Jeffrey
Woodcox
503.802.2039
jeffrey.woodcox@tonkon.com
Associate
Timothy
Wright
503.802.2052
timothy.wright@tonkon.com
Partner
Zachary
Wright
503.802.2041
zach.wright@tonkon.com

Tonkon Torp Helps Albina Head Start Purchase Property for Community Cornerstone

Attorneys from Tonkon Torp’s Real Estate & Land Use Practice Group are celebrating a successful real estate purchase for pro bono client Albina Head Start (AHS). For more than 40 years, AHS has leased space at a former church building in NE Portland for its Tina Clegg Center. The Center, a community pillar for one of Portland’s historic communities of color, houses both a Head Start program serving 60 low-income families and AHS administrative offices that coordinate and provide services for numerous additional families.

Tonkon Torp Helps World of Speed Keep Rolling

Tonkon Torp is proud to serve as the general counsel of The World of Speed, a nonprofit organization that provides a space where the Oregon community can gather, learn and preserve the motorsports culture of the Northwest. Find details and more featured cases here.

Tonkon Torp Helps Albina Head Start Stabilize Finances for Enhanced Programming

Albina Head Start, Inc. (AHS), which serves more than 1,000 low-income children and their families in North, Northeast and Southeast Portland, faces the future in a stronger financial position thanks to a significant pro bono effort by Tonkon Torp. Find details and more featured cases here.

Albina Head Start Turns on First Solar-Powered Building with Assist from Tonkon Torp

When Albina Head Start learned it was awarded a Blue Sky Fund grant to install a rooftop solar array on one of its buildings, it turned to its long-time pro bono legal partner, Tonkon Torp. The nonprofit organization knew that it would need legal guidance to ensure that it could meet the terms laid out in the grant’s detailed and binding Memo of Understanding.

Representative Matters

Motorspots Museum and Education Center

General counsel for World of Speed, a motorsports museum with an automotive vocational program, ensuring that the nonprofit is legally compliant with governance, compliance, third-party contracts, and intellectual property.

Agreement with Portland Community College

Negotiated and documented a unique agreement with Portland Community College to provide on-campus Head Start Program.

Services + Industries

Services + Industries

Contact us or sign up for emails on all of our news and events.

We encourage you to contact us if you have further questions about our firm or our experience. For your protection, we cannot represent you until we know that doing so will not create a conflict of interest. Accordingly, please do not send us any confidential or secret information about any matter that may involve you until you receive a written statement from us that we represent you (an engagement letter).

If after browsing this web site you are unsure which lawyer you should contact, please call us at 503.221.1440