Labor & Employment

We partner with our clients to attract, retain, and support employees, comply with all applicable laws, and manage disputes as they arise.

Every company— no matter its size or sophistication — will encounter employment issues. Successful and thoughtful resolution of those issues is critical. Tonkon Torp’s relationship-based approach offers practical solutions to companies large and small, including writing policies, strategizing regarding growth or downsizing, managing employee relations, protecting competitive information and market positions, litigation mitigation advice, and dealing with union activity.

See where we are licensed.

Counseling & Training

Legal compliance is an essential. Our attorneys help companies with local, state, and federal employment laws, to proactively protect and enhance their workplace culture, as well as minimize exposure to litigation.

Counseling and training programs include:

  • Developing and implementing appropriate policies, such as those related to harassment, discrimination, and retaliation
  • Wage and hour practices
  • State and federal leave compliance
  • The ADA and reasonable accommodations
  • The employee lifecycle, including application, hiring, evaluation, promotions/transfers, and separation
  • OSHA and workplace safety
  • Non-compete, non-solicitation, and non-disclosure agreements
  • Employment contracts, executive compensation, and employee benefits
  • Closures, downsizing, and layoffs, including WARN compliance
  • Prevention of workplace theft and violence
  • Employee handbooks
  • Affirmative action plans
  • OFCCP audits

Labor Relations

We help employers navigate the full spectrum of labor relations and union issues, from collective bargaining and labor arbitrations to defending employers at the NLRB and in federal court. We effectively represent employers in connection with the following issues:

  • Labor relations and union avoidance
  • Unfair labor practice actions with the NLRB
  • Strikes and injunctions
  • Union organizing campaigns
  • Representation elections
  • Collective bargaining
  • Union grievances and labor arbitrations
  • Federal and state court injunctions

Employment Litigation

Even the best companies get sued. Our defense team is here to help. Our attorneys defend companies at all levels of federal and state courts, in arbitration, and before administrative agencies and tribunals.

Our litigation experience is vast, and includes lawsuits related to the following:

  • Harassment, discrimination, and retaliation
  • Whistleblowing
  • Wage and hour claims, including class actions
  • Family and medical leave laws, and disability claims
  • Wrongful termination
  • Torts, such as business interference and infliction of emotional distress
  • Employment contracts, pensions, and employee benefits
  • Trade secret misappropriation
  • Employee mobility matters, such as non-compete and non-solicit agreements

Search Name Keyword
Last Name Alpha Select
  • All
  • A
  • B
  • C
  • D
  • E
  • F
  • G
  • H
  • J
  • K
  • L
  • M
  • N
  • O
  • P
  • Q
  • R
  • S
  • T
  • U
  • V
  • W

Services + Industries

Services + Industries

Department

Department

Bar Admission

Bar Admission

Schools

Schools

Languages

Languages
3491, 3559
Partner
Adam
Adkin
503.802.2187
adam.adkin@tonkon.com
Partner
Rachel
Atchison
503.802.5732
rachel.atchison@tonkon.com
Associate
Yalda
Bahramian
503.802.5755
yalda.bahramian@tonkon.com
Associate
Paul
Balmer
503.802.5745
paul.balmer@tonkon.com
Associate
Jessica
Bernardini
503.802.2125
jessica.bernardini@tonkon.com
Partner
Lauren
Bernton
503.802.2144
lauren.bernton@tonkon.com
Partner
Owen
Blank
503.802.2011
owen.blank@tonkon.com
3499, 3523
Partner
Ryan
Bledsoe
503.802.2120
ryan.bledsoe@tonkon.com
Partner
Jeff
Bradford
503.802.5724
jeff.bradford@tonkon.com
3505
Partner
Kristin
Bremer Moore
503.802.2154
kristin.bremer@tonkon.com
3561
Partner
Claire
Brown
503.802.5731
claire.brown@tonkon.com
Partner
Bob
Carey
503.802.2032
bob.carey@tonkon.com
Estate Planning Paralegal
AnDee
Compton
503.802.2183
andee.compton@tonkon.com
3423, 3537
Partner
Paul
Conable
503.802.2188
paul.conable@tonkon.com
Associate
Sadie
Concepción
503.802.5773
sadie.concepcion@tonkon.com
3493
Partner
Timothy
Conway
503.802.2027
tim.conway@tonkon.com
Partner
Sherrill
Corbett
503.802.2049
sherrill.corbett@tonkon.com
Associate
Timothy
Costello
503.802.2193
timothy.costello@tonkon.com
Partner
Clay
Creps
503.802.2059
clay.creps@tonkon.com
3501, 3495, 3574, 3491, 3559
Partner
Jeffrey
Cronn
503.802.2048
jeff.cronn@tonkon.com
Partner
Rocky
Dallum
503.802.2175
rocky.dallum@tonkon.com
Associate
Sam
DeBaltzo
503.802.5772
sam.debaltzo@tonkon.com
Partner
Justin
Denton
503.802.2117
justin.denton@tonkon.com
Immigration Paralegal
Mary
Dynowski
503.802.5701
mary.dynowski@tonkon.com
Immigration Paralegal
Kristen
Erán
503.802.2108
kristen.eran@tonkon.com
3531
Partner
Christopher
Erickson
503.802.2177
chris.erickson@tonkon.com
Associate
Rosalie
Fatta
503.802.2031
rosalie.fatta@tonkon.com
Bankruptcy Paralegal
Spencer
Fisher
503.802.2167
spencer.fisher@tonkon.com
Partner
Michael
Fletcher
503.802.2169
michael.fletcher@tonkon.com
Partner
David
Forman
503.802.2023
david.forman@tonkon.com
3543
Partner
Will
Gent
503.802.5767
will.gent@tonkon.com
Litigation Paralegal
Elizabeth
Goodman
503.802.2103
elizabeth.goodman@tonkon.com
Partner
Stephanie
Grant
503.802.5736
stephanie.grant@tonkon.com
Of Counsel
Kyle
Grant
503.802.2092
kyle.grant@tonkon.com
Partner
Ronald
Greenman
503.802.2006
ron.greenman@tonkon.com
Immigration Paralegal
Gayle
Griffin
503.802.2099
gayle.griffin@tonkon.com
3567
Partner
Gwendolyn
Griffith
503.802.2102
gwen.griffith@tonkon.com
3529
Partner
Drew
Hagedorn
503.802.5757
drew.hagedorn@tonkon.com
Of Counsel
Charles
Harrell
503.802.2038
charles.harrell@tonkon.com
Associate
Mick
Harris
503.802.5765
mick.harris@tonkon.com
3535, 3545, 3547
Partner
Caroline
Harris Crowne
503.802.2056
caroline.harris.crowne@tonkon.com
Associate
Matt
Heldt
503.802.2135
matt.heldt@tonkon.com
3447
Partner
Ted
Herzog
503.802.2033
ted.herzog@tonkon.com
3521
Partner
Karen
Hobson
503.802.2136
karen.hobson@tonkon.com
Business Paralegal
Samantha
Holly
503.802.2118
sam.holly@tonkon.com
Of Counsel
Jarell
Hunt
503.802.5776
jarell.hunt@tonkon.com
Associate
Josie
Jeremiah
503.802.2146
josie.jeremiah@tonkon.com
Associate
Jordan
Jeter
503.802.2076
jordan.jeter@tonkon.com
Associate
Samantha
Klausen
503.802.2124
samantha.klausen@tonkon.com
Partner
Blerina
Kotori
503.802.2055
blerina.kotori@tonkon.com
Partner
Melina
LaMorticella
503.802.2122
melina.lamorticella@tonkon.com
Partner
Mark
LeRoux
503.802.2022
mark.leroux@tonkon.com
Associate
Eric
Levine
503.802.2072
eric.levine@tonkon.com
Business & Real Estate Paralegal
Laura
Lindberg
503.802.2128
laura.lindberg@tonkon.com
3572
Of Counsel
Maureen
McGee
503.802.5726
maureen.mcgee@tonkon.com
3503, 3531
Partner
Parna
Mehrbani
503.802.2170
parna.mehrbani@tonkon.com
3497
Partner
Brenda
Meltebeke
503.802.2088
brenda.meltebeke@tonkon.com
Partner
Michael
Millender
503.802.2164
michael.millender@tonkon.com
Of Counsel
Max
Miller Jr.
503.802.2030
max.miller@tonkon.com
Partner
Christopher
Morehead
503.802.2035
christopher.morehead@tonkon.com
3569
Partner
Jessica
Morgan
503.802.2165
jessica.morgan@tonkon.com
Associate
Gracey
Nagle
503.802.5753
gracey.nagle@tonkon.com
Litigation Paralegal
David
Namdar
503.802.2095
david.namdar@tonkon.com
3572
Partner
Danny
Newman
503.802.2089
danny.newman@tonkon.com
Attorney
Steven
Olson
503.802.2159
steven.olson@tonkon.com
Senior Counsel
Turid
Owren
503.802.2045
turid.owren@tonkon.com
3525, 3414, 3499
Partner
Christopher
Pallanch
503.802.2104
christopher.pallanch@tonkon.com
Partner
Thomas
Palmer
503.802.2018
tom.palmer@tonkon.com
Business Paralegal
Allan
Patterson
503.802.2021
allan.patterson@tonkon.com
Intellectual Property Paralegal
Renee
Peck
503.802.2197
renee.peck@tonkon.com
3509
Partner
Alan
Perkins
503.802.2127
alan.perkins@tonkon.com
3513, 3569
Partner
David
Petersen
503.802.2054
david.petersen@tonkon.com
Of Counsel
Sasha
Petrova
503.802.2130
sasha.petrova@tonkon.com
Case Manager Paralegal
Ellen
Previdelli
503.802.2171
ellen.previdelli@tonkon.com
Business Paralegal
Laney
Quigley
503.802.2017
laney.quigley@tonkon.com
Partner
Megan
Reuther
503.802.2174
megan.reuther@tonkon.com
Case Manager Paralegal
Erika
Robles
503.802.2097
erika.robles@tonkon.com
3521
Partner
John
Rosenfeld
503.802.2010
john.rosenfeld@tonkon.com
Associate
Kate
Roth
503.802.2189
kate.roth@tonkon.com
3462
Partner
Ferdinand
Ruplin
503.802.2029
ferdie.ruplin@tonkon.com
Managing Partner
Kurt
Ruttum
503.802.2043
kurt.ruttum@tonkon.com
Immigration Paralegal
Gabriel
Santos
503.802.2155
gabriel.santos@tonkon.com
Partner
Melany
Savitt
503.802.2179
melany.savitt@tonkon.com
Associate
Zack
Schick
503.802.2065
zack.schick@tonkon.com
Partner
Drea
Schmidt
503.802.5703
drea.schmidt@tonkon.com
Partner
Ava
Schoen
503.802.2143
ava.schoen@tonkon.com
3515
Partner
Jeanette
Schuster
503.802.2114
jeanette.schuster@tonkon.com
Of Counsel
Leon
Simson
503.802.2067
leon.simson@tonkon.com
3423, 3553
Partner
Dan
Skerritt
503.802.2024
dan.skerritt@tonkon.com
Partner
Josh
Smith
503.802.2191
josh.smith@tonkon.com
Intellectual Property Paralegal
Anthony
Smith
503.802.2157
anthony.smith@tonkon.com
3574, 3555
Partner
Anna
Sortun
503.802.2107
anna.sortun@tonkon.com
3563
Partner
Kimberlee
Stafford
503.802.2062
kimberlee.stafford@tonkon.com
Of Counsel
Darian
Stanford
503.802.2028
darian.stanford@tonkon.com
Litigation Paralegal
Larissa
Stec
503.802.2148
larissa.stec@tonkon.com
Partner
Jon
Stride
503.802.2034
jon.stride@tonkon.com
Associate
Samantha
Taylor
503.802.2042
samantha.taylor@tonkon.com
Associate
Rachel
Timmins
503.802.2150
rachel.timmins@tonkon.com
Partner
Alex
Tinker
503.802.5734
alex.tinker@tonkon.com
Litigation Paralegal
Amanda
Ulrich
503.802.2106
amanda.ulrich@tonkon.com

Tonkon Torp Achieves Arbitration Win for Global Financial Services Firm

Tonkon Torp partner Haley Morrison and associate Carlie Bacon recently secured a complete victory through arbitration for a New York-based, global financial services firm in the Fortune 100. The client hired Haley several years ago to defend it against claims of discrimination, harassment, retaliation, medical leave interference, equal pay violations, and various torts by a former financial advisor.

Tonkon Torp Secures Complete Victory – and Wins Attorneys’ Fees – in Employment Litigation Matter for Sunshine Retirement Living

In a very rare decision by a federal court, Tonkon Torp partner Haley Morrison won attorneys’ fees for the defense in a case alleging state and federal discrimination and retaliation claims. Morrison, along with local counsel from Troutman Pepper’s Atlanta office, defended Sunshine Retirement Living in the case brought by a former employee, before the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Georgia.

Tonkon Torp Brings Attorney Power to Renewable Energy Transaction

Tonkon Torp client Enel Green Power North America (EGPNA) is the North American subsidiary of one of the largest corporations in the world, the Italian electricity company Enel S.p.A. Here’s how we helped EGPNA in a renewable energy acquisition.

Fashion House Dooney & Bourke Wins with Tonkon Torp

Tonkon Torp’s trial attorneys were victorious in defending Dooney & Bourke, Inc., in a wage claims trial in the U. S. District Court in Portland. Their litigation team defended the high-end, Connecticut-based handbag manufacturer against wage claims made by a former independent sales representative. 

Representative Matters

Guydish v. U.S. Bakery

(King County, WA Superior Court/Washington Court of Appeals) – Defended successfully, in trial court and on appeal, a class action seeking unpaid overtime on behalf of route sales persons for a regional company.

Class Action/Employment Law

Represented the nation's largest veterinary chain in a wage and hour class action in federal court in California, including substantial motions practice. (USDC Central District of California)

Mary Christ v. Employer

Obtained dismissal of unfair labor practice charges filed against local day spa by former employee who claimed she was terminated for union activity.

Patricia Lewey v. Employer

Obtained favorable settlement for national veterinary hospital in case involving claims of wrongful constructive discharge and intentional infliction of emotional distress asserted by former employee.

Multi-Plaintiff Sexual Harassment Defense

Defended multi-plaintiff sexual harassment lawsuit brought by the EEOC, resulting in a dismissal of two of the plaintiffs and a favorable settlement with the remaining four plaintiffs.

Hamrick v. Employer

Obtained favorable settlement for local bakery in federal lawsuit filed by former employee for disability discrimination and FMLA interference.

Sorokina v. Employer

Obtained favorable settlement for local baker in lawsuit filed by former employee for age and gender discrimination and retaliation.

Case of First Impression

Successfully defended employer/client through summary judgment and successive appeals on a case of first impression regarding limitations on the reinstatement and reemployment rights for injured workers.

Sexual Harassment Defense

Defense verdict for client/employer in a sexual harassment claim by two female employees.

ADA Claim

Obtained a directed verdict at the close of a trial defending an ADA claim on behalf of employer/client. 

Confidentiality Agreement Dispute

Represented business owner in confidentiality agreement dispute. Matter was settled to client's satisfaction

Champlin/GEI Management Company, Inc. v. Huseby

Defeated motion for temporary restraining order filed against executive in federal court based on alleged breach of noncompetition and nonsolicitation agreement.

Shareholder Oppression Claims

Brought claims for minority shareholder oppression and employment discrimination. After obtaining partial summary judgment, we obtained a favorable settlement for our client.

Kristie Merrill et al. v. Employer

Conducted internal investigation into allegations of sexual harassment asserted by one former employee and two current employees of central Oregon healthcare provider.

Jes Shelton v. Employer

Obtained favorable settlement for local affiliate of international nonprofit housing organization in lawsuit filed by former employee in federal court for whistleblower retaliation. 

Frances Du Ju v. Employer

Won summary judgment in federal lawsuit for race discrimination and retaliation filed by former employee of international staffing agency. 

Collective Bargaining with the Oregon Nurses Association

Negotiated on behalf of public hospital to successful contract.

Lightbourne v. Gresham Cosmetic Laser Center

Represented employer in termination litigation involving allegations of workers compensation and disability discrimination. Obtained favorable settlement of all claims.

Policy Development/Handbook Renew/Employee Training

Worked with client on policy development, handbook renew, and employee training information.

Representation of Municipal Ambulance Company

Represented a municipal ambulance company in regard to various employment and labor issues.

Medical Use of Marijuana Reasonable Accommodation

Successfully obtained summary judgment on employer's obligation to reasonably accommodate medical use of marijuana which was upheld on by State Supreme Court.

Policy Development

Assisted international athletic footwear company with crafting and implementing policies and procedures to ensure compliance with new child abuse reporting legislation.

Earned Dismissal of All Claims in Arbitration

Concluded case spanning nearly seven (7) years on behalf of Fortune 100 Company with an unqualified defense decision in arbitration. 

Complete Summary Judgment Victory

Partner Kristin Bremer Moore and Associate Carlie Bacon won complete summary judgment for a large apartment complex in Oregon. After the plaintiff twice failed at the administrative level, he filed a lawsuit alleging various employment discrimination and retaliation claims. The case persisted for several years, during which time Kristin and Carlie won fees and costs as a sanction on a motion to compel after the plaintiff failed to fulfill discovery obligations. When the plaintiff failed to respond to Kristin and Carlie’s motion for summary judgment, the court granted the motion in its entirety, dismissing all of the plaintiff’s claims.

Services + Industries

Services + Industries

Contact us or sign up for emails on all of our news and events.

We encourage you to contact us if you have further questions about our firm or our experience. For your protection, we cannot represent you until we know that doing so will not create a conflict of interest. Accordingly, please do not send us any confidential or secret information about any matter that may involve you until you receive a written statement from us that we represent you (an engagement letter).

If after browsing this web site you are unsure which lawyer you should contact, please call us at 503.221.1440.