Construction

Tonkon Torp’s construction lawyers seek pragmatic and cost-effective solutions to the many complex legal issues that can arise in construction projects.

We represent businesses and individuals in all aspects of the construction process. We are experienced in representing developers and property owners, homeowners associations, construction firms, general and subcontractors, suppliers, and building product manufacturers.

We have extensive construction law experience, and our clients look to us for pragmatic and efficient solutions to the many problems that inevitably come up during a project. We assist clients with resolving complex construction disputes, enforcing payment obligations, and documenting contract obligations. We also offer unparalleled financial reorganization services to our construction clients, as our team includes the leading bankruptcy and reorganization lawyers in the Pacific Northwest.

We maintain expertise across a full range of practice areas to offer services including:

  • Contract negotiation and drafting
  • Drafting and reviewing bid documents and other agreements
  • Construction lien foreclosure and defense
  • Litigation, mediation, and arbitration
  • Tax advice
  • Labor and employment counsel and litigation
  • Environmental compliance

Construction Litigation

Our construction litigation attorneys have a wide range of experience including:

  • Contract and change order disputes
  • Construction delays and cost-overruns
  • Warranty claims
  • Construction defects and related insurance coverage issues
  • Financial disputes, including pursuing and defending construction lien claims and bond claims

Notable examples of our construction law experience include:

  • Represented the purchaser of Mississippi Avenue Lofts, a troubled green condominium project in North Portland. This case involved over 20 parties, including the architect, general contractor, subcontractors and suppliers. The building, although brand new, experienced significant construction defects, including a prematurely failed roof and acoustic separation issues. The case involved damages in excess of $2 million, and was ultimately settled following a series of joint expert investigations and a comprehensive mediation process
  • Represented a property owner in a claim against its general contractor for defective road construction. Obtained favorable award for client following American Arbitration Association arbitration
  • Represented a homeowner association in legal proceedings against its general contractor arising out of a complex and protracted contract close-out process. The project was a complete envelope renovation for high-end condominiums located at the Oregon coast, with a $2.4 million construction contract. The dispute involved approximately $400,000 in disputed punch list items, and was settled on favorable terms
  • Represented a building product manufacturer for over 20 years, including playing an oversight role in its defense of numerous construction defect claims and related insurance coverage issues arising out of its hardboard siding product
  • Represented a galvanizing supplier in state court litigation arising out of defective highway bridge parts. The matter was settled on favorable terms following mediation
  • Regularly represent a large commercial general construction contractor in the disputes that arise in connection with owners, subcontractors, and suppliers
  • Defended owner of major energy project from dozens of construction lien foreclosure and related claims following financial default of general contractor

Search Name Keyword
Last Name Alpha Select
  • All
  • A
  • B
  • C
  • D
  • E
  • F
  • G
  • H
  • J
  • K
  • L
  • M
  • N
  • O
  • P
  • Q
  • R
  • S
  • T
  • U
  • V
  • W

Services + Industries

Services + Industries

Department

Department

Bar Admission

Bar Admission

Schools

Schools

Languages

Languages
Partner
Adam
Adkin
503.802.2187
adam.adkin@tonkon.com
Business Paralegal
Brenda
Alvey
503.802.2156
brenda.alvey@tonkon.com
Partner
Rachel
Atchison
503.802.5732
rachel.atchison@tonkon.com
Associate
Carlie
Bacon
503.802.2190
carlie.bacon@tonkon.com
Associate
Paul
Balmer
503.802.5745
paul.balmer@tonkon.com
Business Paralegal
Karen
Bartley
503.802.2838
karen.bartley@tonkon.com
Partner
Eric
Beach
503.802.2182
eric.beach@tonkon.com
Associate
Lauren
Bernton
503.802.2144
lauren.bernton@tonkon.com
Partner
Owen
Blank
503.802.2011
owen.blank@tonkon.com
3499, 3523
Partner
Ryan
Bledsoe
503.802.2120
ryan.bledsoe@tonkon.com
Partner
Jeff
Bradford
503.802.5724
jeff.bradford@tonkon.com
3505
Partner
Kristin
Bremer Moore
503.802.2154
kristin.bremer@tonkon.com
3561
Partner
Claire
Brown
503.802.5731
claire.brown@tonkon.com
Partner
Bob
Carey
503.802.2032
bob.carey@tonkon.com
Estate Planning Paralegal
AnDee
Compton
503.802.2183
andee.compton@tonkon.com
3423, 3537, 3572
Partner
Paul
Conable
503.802.2188
paul.conable@tonkon.com
Associate
Sadie
Concepción
503.802.5773
sadie.concepcion@tonkon.com
3493
Partner
Timothy
Conway
503.802.2027
tim.conway@tonkon.com
3491, 3559
Partner
Sherrill
Corbett
503.802.2049
sherrill.corbett@tonkon.com
Associate
Timothy
Costello
503.802.2193
timothy.costello@tonkon.com
Partner
Clay
Creps
503.802.2059
clay.creps@tonkon.com
3501, 3569, 3495, 3574
Partner
Jeffrey
Cronn
503.802.2048
jeff.cronn@tonkon.com
Partner
Rocky
Dallum
503.802.2175
rocky.dallum@tonkon.com
Associate
Sam
DeBaltzo
503.802.5772
sam.debaltzo@tonkon.com
Partner
Justin
Denton
503.802.2117
justin.denton@tonkon.com
Immigration Paralegal
Mary
Dynowski
503.802.5701
mary.dynowski@tonkon.com
Estate Planning Paralegal
Solongo
Enkhsaikhan
503.802.5730
solongo.enkhsaikhan@tonkon.com
Immigration Paralegal
Kristen
Erán
503.802.2108
kristen.eran@tonkon.com
3531
Partner
Christopher
Erickson
503.802.2177
chris.erickson@tonkon.com
Bankruptcy Paralegal
Spencer
Fisher
503.802.2167
spencer.fisher@tonkon.com
Partner
Michael
Fletcher
503.802.2169
michael.fletcher@tonkon.com
Partner
David
Forman
503.802.2023
david.forman@tonkon.com
3462
Of Counsel
Danica
Foster
503.802.2160
danica.foster@tonkon.com
Intellectual Property Paralegal
Lisa
Gabel
503.802.2173
lisa.gabel@tonkon.com
3543
Associate
Will
Gent
503.802.5767
will.gent@tonkon.com
Litigation Paralegal
Elizabeth
Goodman
503.802.2103
elizabeth.goodman@tonkon.com
Associate
Stephanie
Grant
503.802.5736
stephanie.grant@tonkon.com
Of Counsel
Kyle
Grant
503.802.2092
kyle.grant@tonkon.com
Partner
Ronald
Greenman
503.802.2006
ron.greenman@tonkon.com
Immigration Paralegal
Gayle
Griffin
503.802.2099
gayle.griffin@tonkon.com
3567
Partner
Gwendolyn
Griffith
503.802.2102
gwen.griffith@tonkon.com
3572, 3529
Partner
Drew
Hagedorn
503.802.5757
drew.hagedorn@tonkon.com
Associate
Olivia
Hariharan Godt
503.802.2158
olivia.godt@tonkon.com
Associate
Mick
Harris
503.802.5765
mick.harris@tonkon.com
3535
Partner
Caroline
Harris Crowne
503.802.2056
caroline.harris.crowne@tonkon.com
Immigration Paralegal
Adriana
Hassett
503.802.2157
adriana.hassett@tonkon.com
Partner
James
Hein
503.802.2129
james.hein@tonkon.com
3447
Partner
Ted
Herzog
503.802.2033
ted.herzog@tonkon.com
Partner
Karen
Hobson
503.802.2136
karen.hobson@tonkon.com
Business Paralegal
Samantha
Holly
503.802.2118
sam.holly@tonkon.com
Of Counsel
Jarell
Hunt
503.802.5776
jarell.hunt@tonkon.com
Associate
Josie
Jeremiah
503.802.2146
josie.jeremiah@tonkon.com
Associate
Jordan
Jeter
503.802.2076
jordan.jeter@tonkon.com
Partner
Jeffrey
Keeney
503.802.2025
jeff.keeney@tonkon.com
3493
Partner
Albert
Kennedy
503.802.2013
al.kennedy@tonkon.com
Associate
Samantha
Klausen
503.802.2124
samantha.klausen@tonkon.com
Partner
Blerina
Kotori
503.802.2055
blerina.kotori@tonkon.com
Associate
Antonija
Krizanac
503.802.2038
antonija.krizanac@tonkon.com
Partner
Melina
LaMorticella
503.802.2122
melina.lamorticella@tonkon.com
Partner
Mark
LeRoux
503.802.2022
mark.leroux@tonkon.com
Business & Real Estate Paralegal
Laura
Lindberg
503.802.2128
laura.lindberg@tonkon.com
Of Counsel
Maureen
McGee
503.802.5726
maureen.mcgee@tonkon.com
Associate
Harlan
Mechling
503.802.5733
harlan.mechling@tonkon.com
3503
Partner
Parna
Mehrbani
503.802.2170
parna.mehrbani@tonkon.com
3497
Partner
Brenda
Meltebeke
503.802.2088
brenda.meltebeke@tonkon.com
3569
Partner
Michael
Millender
503.802.2164
michael.millender@tonkon.com
Partner
Max
Miller Jr.
503.802.2030
max.miller@tonkon.com
Partner
Christopher
Morehead
503.802.2035
christopher.morehead@tonkon.com
3525, 3414
Partner
Jessica
Morgan
503.802.2165
jessica.morgan@tonkon.com
Partner
Haley
Morrison
503.802.2121
haley.morrison@tonkon.com
Associate
Gracey
Nagle
503.802.5753
gracey.nagle@tonkon.com
Litigation Paralegal
David
Namdar
503.802.2095
david.namdar@tonkon.com
3519
Senior Counsel
Janet
Neuman
503.802.5722
janet.neuman@tonkon.com
Associate
Danny
Newman
503.802.2089
danny.newman@tonkon.com
3511
Senior Counsel
Darcy
Norville
503.802.2036
darcy.norville@tonkon.com
Attorney
Steven
Olson
503.802.2159
steven.olson@tonkon.com
Partner
Turid
Owren
503.802.2045
turid.owren@tonkon.com
3525, 3414
Partner
Christopher
Pallanch
503.802.2104
christopher.pallanch@tonkon.com
Partner
Thomas
Palmer
503.802.2018
tom.palmer@tonkon.com
Intellectual Property Paralegal
Renee
Peck
503.802.2197
renee.peck@tonkon.com
3509
Partner
Alan
Perkins
503.802.2127
alan.perkins@tonkon.com
3563, 3513
Partner
David
Petersen
503.802.2054
david.petersen@tonkon.com
Case Manager Paralegal
Ellen
Previdelli
503.802.2171
ellen.previdelli@tonkon.com
Business Paralegal
Laney
Quigley
503.802.2017
laney.quigley@tonkon.com
Associate
Megan
Reuther
503.802.2174
megan.reuther@tonkon.com
Case Manager Paralegal
Erika
Robles Jones
503.802.2097
erika.robles.jones@tonkon.com
3521
Partner
John
Rosenfeld
503.802.2010
john.rosenfeld@tonkon.com
Associate
Kate
Roth
503.802.2189
kate.roth@tonkon.com
Associate
Allison
Rothgeb
503.802.2065
allison.rothgeb@tonkon.com
Associate
Ferdinand
Ruplin
503.802.2029
ferdie.ruplin@tonkon.com
Managing Partner
Kurt
Ruttum
503.802.2043
kurt.ruttum@tonkon.com
Partner
Melany
Savitt
503.802.2179
melany.savitt@tonkon.com
Partner
Drea
Schmidt
503.802.5703
drea.schmidt@tonkon.com
Partner
Ava
Schoen
503.802.2143
ava.schoen@tonkon.com
3515
Partner
Jeanette
Schuster
503.802.2114
jeanette.schuster@tonkon.com
Of Counsel
Leon
Simson
503.802.2067
leon.simson@tonkon.com
3423, 3553
Partner
Dan
Skerritt
503.802.2024
dan.skerritt@tonkon.com
Partner
Josh
Smith
503.802.2191
josh.smith@tonkon.com
3574, 3545, 3547, 3555
Partner
Anna
Sortun
503.802.2107
anna.sortun@tonkon.com
Partner
Kimberlee
Stafford
503.802.2062
kimberlee.stafford@tonkon.com

Tonkon Torp Stays the Course in the Mississippi Avenue Lofts Project

The process to acquire, complete and sell the Mississippi Avenue Lofts involved a broad range of legal transactions from Tonkon Torp, including a funding round, multi-party loan and purchasing agreements, litigation and a final sale. Find the details and more featured cases here.

Representative Matters

Defended Utility from Construction Lien Claim

Obtained favorable ruling dismissing $3.5 million claim brought under construction lien and unjust enrichment legal theories following bench trial.

Condominium Project Representation

Represented the purchaser of a troubled green condominium project in North Portland. This Multnomah County Circuit Court case involved over 20 parties, including the architect, general contractor, subcontractors and suppliers. The building, although brand new, experienced significant construction defects, including a prematurely failed roof and acoustic separation issues. The case was ultimately settled following a series of joint expert investigations and a comprehensive mediation process.

Bid Protest Representation

Successful bid protest against proposed contract award to competing bidder, based on unfairness of procedure.

Homeowners Association Representation

Representation of a homeowners association in legal proceedings against its general contractor arising out of a complex and protracted contract close-out process. Settled on favorable terms.

Building Product Manufacturer Representation

Represented a building product manufacturer for over 20 years, including playing an oversight role in its defense of numerous construction defect claims and related insurance coverage issues arising out of its hardboard siding product.

Construction Arbitration

Successful five-day arbitration to recover damages for defective road construction.

Breach of Fiduciary Duty Claims

Successfully defended and resolved claims of breach of ficuciary duty against founder of family business.

Complex Senior Housing Construction Loan Facilitation

Represented client borrower in the negotiation and closing of a construction loan for a retirement residence in Washington state. Our work included a loan agreement, related security documents, and the negotiation of ancillary development agreements among the borrower and its development and architectural contractors. On the intended day of closing, it was discovered that a subcontractor had prematurely commenced site work, jeopardizing the bank’s priority. We were able to work with the client, title, and bank to negotiate subordination agreements for the subcontractor and general contractor, and closing proceeded only one day later than planned.

Services + Industries

Services + Industries

Contact us or sign up for emails on all of our news and events.

We encourage you to contact us if you have further questions about our firm or our experience. For your protection, we cannot represent you until we know that doing so will not create a conflict of interest. Accordingly, please do not send us any confidential or secret information about any matter that may involve you until you receive a written statement from us that we represent you (an engagement letter).

If after browsing this web site you are unsure which lawyer you should contact, please call us at 503.221.1440