Contract & Commercial Disputes

Good businesses are built on good contracts. Protecting and enforcing those contracts is critical to success. Tonkon Torp’s trial lawyers know how to protect your contractual rights, and how to avoid impractical and wasteful disputes that can cripple your business.

At Tonkon Torp, we take a businesslike approach to business litigation. We understand that litigation is one tool that can be used to address a broken promise and remedy harm done to a client’s business. When you need to aggressively pursue or defend a lawsuit, we play to win. But we also understand that successful litigation is about achieving your goals without losing focus on business objectives or breaking your budget.

Search Name Keyword
Last Name Alpha Select
  • All
  • A
  • B
  • C
  • D
  • E
  • F
  • G
  • H
  • J
  • K
  • L
  • M
  • N
  • O
  • P
  • Q
  • R
  • S
  • T
  • U
  • V
  • W

Services + Industries

Services + Industries

Department

Department

Bar Admission

Bar Admission

Schools

Schools

Languages

Languages
Partner
Adam
Adkin
503.802.2187
adam.adkin@tonkon.com
Business Paralegal
Brenda
Alvey
503.802.2156
brenda.alvey@tonkon.com
Partner
Rachel
Atchison
503.802.5732
rachel.atchison@tonkon.com
Associate
Carlie
Bacon
503.802.2190
carlie.bacon@tonkon.com
Associate
Paul
Balmer
503.802.5745
paul.balmer@tonkon.com
Business Paralegal
Karen
Bartley
503.802.2838
karen.bartley@tonkon.com
Partner
Eric
Beach
503.802.2182
eric.beach@tonkon.com
Associate
Lauren
Bernton
503.802.2144
lauren.bernton@tonkon.com
Partner
Owen
Blank
503.802.2011
owen.blank@tonkon.com
3499, 3523
Partner
Ryan
Bledsoe
503.802.2120
ryan.bledsoe@tonkon.com
Partner
Jeff
Bradford
503.802.5724
jeff.bradford@tonkon.com
3505
Partner
Kristin
Bremer Moore
503.802.2154
kristin.bremer@tonkon.com
3561
Partner
Claire
Brown
503.802.5731
claire.brown@tonkon.com
Partner
Bob
Carey
503.802.2032
bob.carey@tonkon.com
Estate Planning Paralegal
AnDee
Compton
503.802.2183
andee.compton@tonkon.com
3423, 3537, 3572
Partner
Paul
Conable
503.802.2188
paul.conable@tonkon.com
Associate
Sadie
Concepción
503.802.5773
sadie.concepcion@tonkon.com
3493
Partner
Timothy
Conway
503.802.2027
tim.conway@tonkon.com
3491, 3559
Partner
Sherrill
Corbett
503.802.2049
sherrill.corbett@tonkon.com
Associate
Timothy
Costello
503.802.2193
timothy.costello@tonkon.com
Partner
Clay
Creps
503.802.2059
clay.creps@tonkon.com
3501, 3569, 3495, 3574
Partner
Jeffrey
Cronn
503.802.2048
jeff.cronn@tonkon.com
Partner
Rocky
Dallum
503.802.2175
rocky.dallum@tonkon.com
Associate
Sam
DeBaltzo
503.802.5772
sam.debaltzo@tonkon.com
Partner
Justin
Denton
503.802.2117
justin.denton@tonkon.com
Immigration Paralegal
Mary
Dynowski
503.802.5701
mary.dynowski@tonkon.com
Estate Planning Paralegal
Solongo
Enkhsaikhan
503.802.5730
solongo.enkhsaikhan@tonkon.com
Immigration Paralegal
Kristen
Erán
503.802.2108
kristen.eran@tonkon.com
3531
Partner
Christopher
Erickson
503.802.2177
chris.erickson@tonkon.com
Bankruptcy Paralegal
Spencer
Fisher
503.802.2167
spencer.fisher@tonkon.com
Partner
Michael
Fletcher
503.802.2169
michael.fletcher@tonkon.com
Partner
David
Forman
503.802.2023
david.forman@tonkon.com
Intellectual Property Paralegal
Lisa
Gabel
503.802.2173
lisa.gabel@tonkon.com
3543
Associate
Will
Gent
503.802.5767
will.gent@tonkon.com
Litigation Paralegal
Elizabeth
Goodman
503.802.2103
elizabeth.goodman@tonkon.com
Associate
Stephanie
Grant
503.802.5736
stephanie.grant@tonkon.com
Of Counsel
Kyle
Grant
503.802.2092
kyle.grant@tonkon.com
Partner
Ronald
Greenman
503.802.2006
ron.greenman@tonkon.com
Immigration Paralegal
Gayle
Griffin
503.802.2099
gayle.griffin@tonkon.com
3567
Partner
Gwendolyn
Griffith
503.802.2102
gwen.griffith@tonkon.com
3572, 3529
Partner
Drew
Hagedorn
503.802.5757
drew.hagedorn@tonkon.com
Associate
Olivia
Hariharan Godt
503.802.2158
olivia.godt@tonkon.com
Associate
Mick
Harris
503.802.5765
mick.harris@tonkon.com
3535
Partner
Caroline
Harris Crowne
503.802.2056
caroline.harris.crowne@tonkon.com
Immigration Paralegal
Adriana
Hassett
503.802.2157
adriana.hassett@tonkon.com
Partner
James
Hein
503.802.2129
james.hein@tonkon.com
3447
Partner
Ted
Herzog
503.802.2033
ted.herzog@tonkon.com
Partner
Karen
Hobson
503.802.2136
karen.hobson@tonkon.com
Business Paralegal
Samantha
Holly
503.802.2118
sam.holly@tonkon.com
Of Counsel
Jarell
Hunt
503.802.5776
jarell.hunt@tonkon.com
Associate
Josie
Jeremiah
503.802.2146
josie.jeremiah@tonkon.com
Associate
Jordan
Jeter
503.802.2076
jordan.jeter@tonkon.com
Partner
Jeffrey
Keeney
503.802.2025
jeff.keeney@tonkon.com
3493
Partner
Albert
Kennedy
503.802.2013
al.kennedy@tonkon.com
Associate
Samantha
Klausen
503.802.2124
samantha.klausen@tonkon.com
Partner
Blerina
Kotori
503.802.2055
blerina.kotori@tonkon.com
Associate
Antonija
Krizanac
503.802.2038
antonija.krizanac@tonkon.com
Partner
Melina
LaMorticella
503.802.2122
melina.lamorticella@tonkon.com
Partner
Mark
LeRoux
503.802.2022
mark.leroux@tonkon.com
Business & Real Estate Paralegal
Laura
Lindberg
503.802.2128
laura.lindberg@tonkon.com
Of Counsel
Maureen
McGee
503.802.5726
maureen.mcgee@tonkon.com
Associate
Harlan
Mechling
503.802.5733
harlan.mechling@tonkon.com
3503
Partner
Parna
Mehrbani
503.802.2170
parna.mehrbani@tonkon.com
3497
Partner
Brenda
Meltebeke
503.802.2088
brenda.meltebeke@tonkon.com
3569
Partner
Michael
Millender
503.802.2164
michael.millender@tonkon.com
Partner
Max
Miller Jr.
503.802.2030
max.miller@tonkon.com
Partner
Christopher
Morehead
503.802.2035
christopher.morehead@tonkon.com
3525, 3414
Partner
Jessica
Morgan
503.802.2165
jessica.morgan@tonkon.com
Partner
Haley
Morrison
503.802.2121
haley.morrison@tonkon.com
Associate
Gracey
Nagle
503.802.5753
gracey.nagle@tonkon.com
Litigation Paralegal
David
Namdar
503.802.2095
david.namdar@tonkon.com
3519
Senior Counsel
Janet
Neuman
503.802.5722
janet.neuman@tonkon.com
Associate
Danny
Newman
503.802.2089
danny.newman@tonkon.com
3511
Senior Counsel
Darcy
Norville
503.802.2036
darcy.norville@tonkon.com
Attorney
Steven
Olson
503.802.2159
steven.olson@tonkon.com
Partner
Turid
Owren
503.802.2045
turid.owren@tonkon.com
3525, 3414
Partner
Christopher
Pallanch
503.802.2104
christopher.pallanch@tonkon.com
Partner
Thomas
Palmer
503.802.2018
tom.palmer@tonkon.com
Intellectual Property Paralegal
Renee
Peck
503.802.2197
renee.peck@tonkon.com
3509
Partner
Alan
Perkins
503.802.2127
alan.perkins@tonkon.com
3563, 3513
Partner
David
Petersen
503.802.2054
david.petersen@tonkon.com
Of Counsel
Sasha
Petrova
503.802.2130
sasha.petrova@tonkon.com
Case Manager Paralegal
Ellen
Previdelli
503.802.2171
ellen.previdelli@tonkon.com
Business Paralegal
Laney
Quigley
503.802.2017
laney.quigley@tonkon.com
Associate
Megan
Reuther
503.802.2174
megan.reuther@tonkon.com
Case Manager Paralegal
Erika
Robles Jones
503.802.2097
erika.robles.jones@tonkon.com
3521
Partner
John
Rosenfeld
503.802.2010
john.rosenfeld@tonkon.com
Associate
Kate
Roth
503.802.2189
kate.roth@tonkon.com
Associate
Allison
Rothgeb
503.802.2065
allison.rothgeb@tonkon.com
3462
Associate
Ferdinand
Ruplin
503.802.2029
ferdie.ruplin@tonkon.com
Managing Partner
Kurt
Ruttum
503.802.2043
kurt.ruttum@tonkon.com
Partner
Melany
Savitt
503.802.2179
melany.savitt@tonkon.com
Partner
Drea
Schmidt
503.802.5703
drea.schmidt@tonkon.com
Partner
Ava
Schoen
503.802.2143
ava.schoen@tonkon.com
3515
Partner
Jeanette
Schuster
503.802.2114
jeanette.schuster@tonkon.com
Of Counsel
Leon
Simson
503.802.2067
leon.simson@tonkon.com
3423, 3553
Partner
Dan
Skerritt
503.802.2024
dan.skerritt@tonkon.com
Partner
Josh
Smith
503.802.2191
josh.smith@tonkon.com
3574, 3545, 3547, 3555
Partner
Anna
Sortun
503.802.2107
anna.sortun@tonkon.com
Partner
Kimberlee
Stafford
503.802.2062
kimberlee.stafford@tonkon.com

Tonkon Torp Litigators Take on One of Oregon’s Largest Commercial Lawsuits

In 2021, Tonkon Torp defended its client Sprinklr, Inc. in one of the largest Oregon-based commercial lawsuits to be filed in recent years. The complex case between Sprinklr and plaintiff Opal Labs began in 2017 and involved the high-end technology of two sophisticated companies offering services in content marketing.

Tonkon Torp Wins Arbitration Victory for Technology Company and Patent Law Firm

Tonkon Torp achieved a significant arbitration win involving two clients, a California-based technology company and its patent litigation law firm. Tonkon Torp was originally retained to represent the tech company in obtaining declaratory and injunctive relief against a litigation finance company that had been engaged to fund the client’s patent enforcement litigation.

Tonkon Torp Harvests Victory for Oregon Radish Seed Farmers

Tonkon Torp represented 45 Northwest farmers in a dispute with an East Coast commercial bank over who should receive the proceeds from the sale of the farmers’ radish seed crop. Find details and more featured cases here.

Tonkon Torp Wins Complicated Civil Trial for Con-way

In arguably one of the biggest and most complicated civil trials in Portland, Tonkon Torp secured a complete jury trial victory for Con-way, a $5.5 billion American multinational freight transportation company. Find details and more featured cases here.

Tonkon Torp Wins Appellate Victory in Auto Insurer Case

Tonkon Torp recently achieved a complete appellate win on behalf of its client, Leif Hansen, in the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals. In 2018, Tonkon Torp attorneys Steve Olson, Paul Conable, and Meg Houlihan represented Hansen individually and in a proposed class action against his auto insurer, GEICO, for refusing to pay for digital scans of his truck as part of the truck’s repair following a collision. Hansen sued for breach of contract under his insurance policy and breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing. The federal district court dismissed the complaint for failure to state a claim. That dismissal prompted an appeal to the Ninth Circuit, which was led by Bob Koch and Meg Houlihan.

Representative Matters

Claims from Sale of Business

Prepared arbitration claim and strategy on behalf of clients who sold second-generation family business. Clients did not receive the payments they were entitled to under the sale agreement because the buyer disputed the accuracy of the company's financial statements and asserted rights to offset for indemnity claims. Assisted clients in negotiating a favorable payment structure, which resolved the accounting and indemnity disputes.

Defended Utility from Construction Lien Claim

Obtained favorable ruling dismissing $3.5 million claim brought under construction lien and unjust enrichment legal theories following bench trial.

Walker v. Metro One

(Multnomah County Circuit Court/Oregon Court of Appeals) – Obtained damages for an investor at trial for breach of convertible promissory note where company had refused to issue shares; successfully defended appeal.

Allianz Global Risks US Insurance Co. v. ACE Property & Casualty Insurance Co. et. al

Following a seven-week jury trial, secured a complete victory for Con-way, a $5.5 billion American multinational freight transportation company. At issue was the question of responsibility for some portion of defense and indemnity costs associated with three Superfund sites, including the Portland Harbor, and over 1500 asbestos lawsuits. Tonkon Torp successfully argued that certain of Con-way's historic insurance policies did not apply to claims against the current property owner.

Indemnity Defense

Defended manufacturing client against multi-million-dollar contractual indemnity and tort claims. Obtained complete defense victory after arbitration hearing.

Representation of Second-Generation Business Owner

Defended and successfully resolved claims for breach of agreements that were made in connection with the transition of a family business from one generation to the next.

Venue Dispute

Sustained venue (after a full day evidentiary hearing) in federal action for a regionally-based client suing a company headquartered in the eastern United States, leading to a favorable resolution for the client.

McCormick & Schmick Restaurant Corp., v. Professional Facilities Management, Inc.

(U.S.D.C. Case No. 3:10-cv-362-pk) –  Represented PFMI in defense of breach of contract and business tort claims filed by McCormick and Schmick relating to a repair and maintenance contract for a chain of 93 restaurants. Also filed counterclaims on behalf of PFMI for breach of contract and business torts. The case was settled on a confidential basis.

WHI Hotel, LLC, et al. v. Wilsonville Holiday Partners LLC, et al.

Defended Wilsonville Holiday Partners (WHP) against claims for breach of warranty and misrepresentation in a hotel property sold by WHP to buyers in 2008. The buyers claimed that alleged defects in the hotel allowed water intrusion from the roof and windows. The case was tried to a jury in Washington County Circuit Court. Plaintiffs sought damages of $5 million and punitive damages of $15 million. After the jury had deliberated to impasse, the case was settled on terms favorable to the client, for a small fraction of the amount sought by plaintiff, and the settlement consisted mainly of forgiveness of a note from buyers to seller for seller financing of a portion of the purchase price.

City of Albany v. SVC Manufacturing Inc.

Defended SVC, a subsidiary of PepsiCo Americas Beverages, in a $105,000,000 breach of contract action filed by the City of Albany after SVC terminated a development agreement pursuant to which SVC was to build a Gatorade plant in Albany.

Thomas Michael Anderson, as Trustee of the Timothy P. Moyer Trust, et v. Sturgeon et. al.

(Multnomah County Circuit Court) – Defended president of property management company against claims for breach of contract and breaches of fiduciary duty. Obtained summary judgment dismissing complaint in its entirety.

Tinn v. EMM Labs, Inc.

Won a multi-million dollar federal court jury trial on behalf of our client EMM Labs, a Canadian manufacturer of high-end audio equipment. Defeated the plaintiff's claims under a distribution agreement and prevailed on our client's counterclaim.

McLean v. Saltchuk, King County Superior Court

Represents three brothers who sold their family trucking business in several proceedings in both court and arbitration. The claims involve indemnity and other issues under a Stock Purchase Agreement, real estate matters, professional malpractice and taxation.

City of Portland v. Severn Trent Systems

Successfully asserted claims of nearly $50 million on behalf of the City of Portland arising out of defects in the new utilities software billing system.

Greenbrier Leasing v. Albany & Eastern RR

Successfully asserting claims for breach of contract and promissory estoppel seeking damages of $1.5 million arising from failure to honor lease obligations.

Burlington Northern & Santa Fe RR v. Gunderson, Inc.

Prevailed on summary judgment against a nearly $15 million claim filed in Texas arising out of a train derailment in Nebraska.

Products Liability

Successfully defended a large manufacturing company against products liability and breach of warranty claims filed in the U.S. District Court, District of Nebraska by establishing that plaintiff's alleged losses were caused by a component part manufacturer and by plaintiff's own negligence.

Union Pacific RR v. Greenbrier Rail Services

Representing a railcar manufacturer in a series of related lawsuits arising from train derailments in Kansas, Nebraska and Wyoming. Plaintiff alleges that products manufactured by Greenbrier failed, causing damages in excess of $10 million.

Confidential

(Multnomah County Circuit Court) – Successfully represented local investment management firm in dispute with a Los Angeles based finance company concerning a structured finance transaction. The opponent sought more than $20 million in compensatory damages plus additional punitive damages, alleging fraud and breach of contract. Successfully prosecuted Client's damages claims for more than $1.8 million for breach of contract and non-payment of note obligations.

Services + Industries

Services + Industries

Contact us or sign up for emails on all of our news and events.

We encourage you to contact us if you have further questions about our firm or our experience. For your protection, we cannot represent you until we know that doing so will not create a conflict of interest. Accordingly, please do not send us any confidential or secret information about any matter that may involve you until you receive a written statement from us that we represent you (an engagement letter).

If after browsing this web site you are unsure which lawyer you should contact, please call us at 503.221.1440.