Intellectual Property

Intellectual property assets can underpin a company’s success in virtually any industry.

Tonkon Torp’s IP lawyers are skilled in the law of trademarks, copyrights, trade secrets, and patents, and they enjoy helping clients develop, protect, and strategically exploit those assets. Our intellectual property practice encompasses the full range of counseling and compliance services, as well as litigation expertise.

We work with exceptional local, national, and international patent prosecution firms when our clients need technical patent advice.

Counseling & Transactions

Tonkon Torp attorneys help clients protect and leverage intellectual property assets at all stages of growth. Our advising and transactional services include:

  • Identifying and protecting trademarks, service marks, and copyrights
  • Negotiating technology transfer and licensing agreements relating to patents, trademarks, know-how, and copyrighted works
  • Negotiating software development and licensing agreements
  • Developing copyright compliance programs, including with respect to open source code
  • Performing due diligence of intellectual property assets in merger and acquisition transactions
  • Protecting inventions, creations, and trade secrets through intellectual property assignments, nondisclosure, and non-compete agreements
  • Developing privacy policies

Litigation

Tonkon Torp attorneys advocate fiercely on behalf of our clients in intellectual property matters. We defend clients accused of misappropriation of trade secrets or patent, trademark, or copyright infringement. We assert claims on behalf of clients whose trade secrets have been misappropriated or whose intellectual property rights have been infringed.

Our experienced litigators are ready to help resolve disputes through negotiation, mediation, litigation, and/or arbitration. When fast action is needed, our attorneys have extensive experience seeking injunctive relief to prevent the inappropriate release or use of intellectual property assets. Tonkon Torp’s IP litigation attorneys are also adept at negotiating satisfactory settlements of ongoing license agreements without compromising our clients’ business relationships.

Our intellectual property litigation practice includes:

  • Patent, trademark, and copyright infringement and trade secret misappropriation
  • Contract and commercial disputes arising from technology transfer or licensing agreements
  • Domain name disputes, nationally and internationally
  • Enforcement of non-compete and nondisclosure agreements through injunctions, trials, and appeals
  • Trademark Trial and Appeal Board trials and appeals
  • Patent Trial and Appeal Board trials and appeals

Search Name Keyword
Last Name Alpha Select
  • All
  • A
  • B
  • C
  • D
  • E
  • F
  • G
  • H
  • J
  • K
  • L
  • M
  • N
  • O
  • P
  • Q
  • R
  • S
  • T
  • U
  • V
  • W

Services + Industries

Services + Industries

Department

Department

Bar Admission

Bar Admission

Schools

Schools

Languages

Languages
Partner
Adam
Adkin
503.802.2187
adam.adkin@tonkon.com
Business Paralegal
Brenda
Alvey
503.802.2156
brenda.alvey@tonkon.com
Partner
Rachel
Atchison
503.802.5732
rachel.atchison@tonkon.com
Associate
Carlie
Bacon
503.802.2190
carlie.bacon@tonkon.com
Associate
Paul
Balmer
503.802.5745
paul.balmer@tonkon.com
Business Paralegal
Karen
Bartley
503.802.2838
karen.bartley@tonkon.com
Partner
Eric
Beach
503.802.2182
eric.beach@tonkon.com
Associate
Lauren
Bernton
503.802.2144
lauren.bernton@tonkon.com
Partner
Owen
Blank
503.802.2011
owen.blank@tonkon.com
3499, 3523
Partner
Ryan
Bledsoe
503.802.2120
ryan.bledsoe@tonkon.com
Partner
Jeff
Bradford
503.802.5724
jeff.bradford@tonkon.com
3505
Partner
Kristin
Bremer Moore
503.802.2154
kristin.bremer@tonkon.com
3561
Partner
Claire
Brown
503.802.5731
claire.brown@tonkon.com
Partner
Bob
Carey
503.802.2032
bob.carey@tonkon.com
Estate Planning Paralegal
AnDee
Compton
503.802.2183
andee.compton@tonkon.com
3423, 3537, 3572
Partner
Paul
Conable
503.802.2188
paul.conable@tonkon.com
Associate
Sadie
Concepción
503.802.5773
sadie.concepcion@tonkon.com
3493
Partner
Timothy
Conway
503.802.2027
tim.conway@tonkon.com
3491, 3559
Partner
Sherrill
Corbett
503.802.2049
sherrill.corbett@tonkon.com
Associate
Timothy
Costello
503.802.2193
timothy.costello@tonkon.com
Partner
Clay
Creps
503.802.2059
clay.creps@tonkon.com
3501, 3569, 3495, 3574
Partner
Jeffrey
Cronn
503.802.2048
jeff.cronn@tonkon.com
Partner
Rocky
Dallum
503.802.2175
rocky.dallum@tonkon.com
Associate
Sam
DeBaltzo
503.802.5772
sam.debaltzo@tonkon.com
Partner
Justin
Denton
503.802.2117
justin.denton@tonkon.com
Immigration Paralegal
Mary
Dynowski
503.802.5701
mary.dynowski@tonkon.com
Estate Planning Paralegal
Solongo
Enkhsaikhan
503.802.5730
solongo.enkhsaikhan@tonkon.com
Immigration Paralegal
Kristen
Erán
503.802.2108
kristen.eran@tonkon.com
3531
Partner
Christopher
Erickson
503.802.2177
chris.erickson@tonkon.com
Bankruptcy Paralegal
Spencer
Fisher
503.802.2167
spencer.fisher@tonkon.com
Partner
Michael
Fletcher
503.802.2169
michael.fletcher@tonkon.com
Partner
David
Forman
503.802.2023
david.forman@tonkon.com
3462
Of Counsel
Danica
Foster
503.802.2160
danica.foster@tonkon.com
Intellectual Property Paralegal
Lisa
Gabel
503.802.2173
lisa.gabel@tonkon.com
3543
Associate
Will
Gent
503.802.5767
will.gent@tonkon.com
Litigation Paralegal
Elizabeth
Goodman
503.802.2103
elizabeth.goodman@tonkon.com
Associate
Stephanie
Grant
503.802.5736
stephanie.grant@tonkon.com
Of Counsel
Kyle
Grant
503.802.2092
kyle.grant@tonkon.com
Partner
Ronald
Greenman
503.802.2006
ron.greenman@tonkon.com
Immigration Paralegal
Gayle
Griffin
503.802.2099
gayle.griffin@tonkon.com
3567
Partner
Gwendolyn
Griffith
503.802.2102
gwen.griffith@tonkon.com
3572, 3529
Partner
Drew
Hagedorn
503.802.5757
drew.hagedorn@tonkon.com
Associate
Olivia
Hariharan Godt
503.802.2158
olivia.godt@tonkon.com
Associate
Mick
Harris
503.802.5765
mick.harris@tonkon.com
3535
Partner
Caroline
Harris Crowne
503.802.2056
caroline.harris.crowne@tonkon.com
Immigration Paralegal
Adriana
Hassett
503.802.2157
adriana.hassett@tonkon.com
Partner
James
Hein
503.802.2129
james.hein@tonkon.com
3447
Partner
Ted
Herzog
503.802.2033
ted.herzog@tonkon.com
Partner
Karen
Hobson
503.802.2136
karen.hobson@tonkon.com
Business Paralegal
Samantha
Holly
503.802.2118
sam.holly@tonkon.com
Of Counsel
Jarell
Hunt
503.802.5776
jarell.hunt@tonkon.com
Associate
Josie
Jeremiah
503.802.2146
josie.jeremiah@tonkon.com
Associate
Jordan
Jeter
503.802.2076
jordan.jeter@tonkon.com
Partner
Jeffrey
Keeney
503.802.2025
jeff.keeney@tonkon.com
3493
Partner
Albert
Kennedy
503.802.2013
al.kennedy@tonkon.com
Associate
Samantha
Klausen
503.802.2124
samantha.klausen@tonkon.com
Partner
Blerina
Kotori
503.802.2055
blerina.kotori@tonkon.com
Associate
Antonija
Krizanac
503.802.2038
antonija.krizanac@tonkon.com
Partner
Melina
LaMorticella
503.802.2122
melina.lamorticella@tonkon.com
Partner
Mark
LeRoux
503.802.2022
mark.leroux@tonkon.com
Business & Real Estate Paralegal
Laura
Lindberg
503.802.2128
laura.lindberg@tonkon.com
Of Counsel
Maureen
McGee
503.802.5726
maureen.mcgee@tonkon.com
Associate
Harlan
Mechling
503.802.5733
harlan.mechling@tonkon.com
3503
Partner
Parna
Mehrbani
503.802.2170
parna.mehrbani@tonkon.com
3497
Partner
Brenda
Meltebeke
503.802.2088
brenda.meltebeke@tonkon.com
3569
Partner
Michael
Millender
503.802.2164
michael.millender@tonkon.com
Partner
Max
Miller Jr.
503.802.2030
max.miller@tonkon.com
Partner
Christopher
Morehead
503.802.2035
christopher.morehead@tonkon.com
3525, 3414
Partner
Jessica
Morgan
503.802.2165
jessica.morgan@tonkon.com
Partner
Haley
Morrison
503.802.2121
haley.morrison@tonkon.com
Associate
Gracey
Nagle
503.802.5753
gracey.nagle@tonkon.com
Litigation Paralegal
David
Namdar
503.802.2095
david.namdar@tonkon.com
3519
Senior Counsel
Janet
Neuman
503.802.5722
janet.neuman@tonkon.com
Associate
Danny
Newman
503.802.2089
danny.newman@tonkon.com
3511
Senior Counsel
Darcy
Norville
503.802.2036
darcy.norville@tonkon.com
Attorney
Steven
Olson
503.802.2159
steven.olson@tonkon.com
Partner
Turid
Owren
503.802.2045
turid.owren@tonkon.com
3525, 3414
Partner
Christopher
Pallanch
503.802.2104
christopher.pallanch@tonkon.com
Partner
Thomas
Palmer
503.802.2018
tom.palmer@tonkon.com
Intellectual Property Paralegal
Renee
Peck
503.802.2197
renee.peck@tonkon.com
3509
Partner
Alan
Perkins
503.802.2127
alan.perkins@tonkon.com
3563, 3513
Partner
David
Petersen
503.802.2054
david.petersen@tonkon.com
Case Manager Paralegal
Ellen
Previdelli
503.802.2171
ellen.previdelli@tonkon.com
Business Paralegal
Laney
Quigley
503.802.2017
laney.quigley@tonkon.com
Associate
Megan
Reuther
503.802.2174
megan.reuther@tonkon.com
Case Manager Paralegal
Erika
Robles Jones
503.802.2097
erika.robles.jones@tonkon.com
3521
Partner
John
Rosenfeld
503.802.2010
john.rosenfeld@tonkon.com
Associate
Kate
Roth
503.802.2189
kate.roth@tonkon.com
Associate
Allison
Rothgeb
503.802.2065
allison.rothgeb@tonkon.com
Associate
Ferdinand
Ruplin
503.802.2029
ferdie.ruplin@tonkon.com
Managing Partner
Kurt
Ruttum
503.802.2043
kurt.ruttum@tonkon.com
Partner
Melany
Savitt
503.802.2179
melany.savitt@tonkon.com
Partner
Drea
Schmidt
503.802.5703
drea.schmidt@tonkon.com
Partner
Ava
Schoen
503.802.2143
ava.schoen@tonkon.com
3515
Partner
Jeanette
Schuster
503.802.2114
jeanette.schuster@tonkon.com
Of Counsel
Leon
Simson
503.802.2067
leon.simson@tonkon.com
3423, 3553
Partner
Dan
Skerritt
503.802.2024
dan.skerritt@tonkon.com
Partner
Josh
Smith
503.802.2191
josh.smith@tonkon.com
3574, 3545, 3547, 3555
Partner
Anna
Sortun
503.802.2107
anna.sortun@tonkon.com
Partner
Kimberlee
Stafford
503.802.2062
kimberlee.stafford@tonkon.com

Tonkon Torp Helps Malarkey Roofing Company Construct a Billion-Plus Sale Strategy

Tonkon Torp guided client Herbert Malarkey Roofing Company through a successful $1.35 billion stock sale to Switzerland-based Holcim Group, one of the world’s largest building products companies. The deal secured a place as one of Oregon’s largest M&A transactions in 2021.

Tonkon Torp Leads CamelBak to Victory at the Patent Trial and Appeal Board and Federal Circuit

Tonkon Torp has won a significant patent case for its client, CamelBak Products. CamelBak, based in Petaluma, California and founded in 1989, invented the hands-free hydration category and is the global leader in personal hydration gear. In November 2014, CamelBak was sued for patent infringement on a lid assembly for a beverage container that included cleaning features.

Tonkon Torp Wins Intellectual Property Judgment for AXTS and Rainier Arms

Jon Stride, lead trial lawyer for Tonkon Torp’s Intellectual Property Practice Group, successfully pursued trademark infringement and counterfeiting claims on behalf of AXTS (Salem, OR) and Rainier Arms. AXTS manufactures high-quality after-market firearm parts. It co-brands the RAPTOR charging handle part for AR 15 rifles with Rainier Arms (Auburn, WA) which is sold throughout the United States.

Tonkon Torp Represents Vestas in Acquisition of UpWind Solutions

Tonkon Torp represented its client Vestas, the world’s largest manufacturer of wind turbines, in the acquisition of UpWind Solutions, Inc., an independent service provider for wind power plants in nine US states. The $60 million acquisition furthers Vestas’s strategic objectives for its North America service business.

Tonkon Torp Brings Attorney Power to Renewable Energy Transaction

Tonkon Torp client Enel Green Power North America (EGPNA) is the North American subsidiary of one of the largest corporations in the world, the Italian electricity company Enel S.p.A. Here’s how we helped EGPNA in a renewable energy acquisition.

Representative Matters

Represented Client and Irish Software Firm Developing Custom Insurance Application Process

Worked with client and Irish software development firm in the customization of an innovative, streamlined insurance application process for use in a multi-insurance carrier environment.

Represented Client Developing Turnkey Software Delivery System

Worked with client in developing new turnkey model for the delivery of software as a service for national and international clients.

Negotiated Master Services Agreement for Software Company

Represented a NASDAQ-listed software company in negotiating a master service agreement with a NYSE-listed social networking company.

Represented Multi-National Water Filtration Company in Development Agreement

Represented a multi-national water filtration company in drafting and negotiating a joint development agreement with a U.S.-based chemical technologies company for the development of new water filtration systems.

Startup Collaboration Agreements for Prospective Partners

Represented a startup client in drafting and negotiating collaboration agreements with prospective partners for the purpose of marketing and commercializing new patents and technologies.

Endorsement Agreement

Drafted and negotiated an agreement involving the endorsement services of a reputable, well-known industry expert for a client engaged in manufacturing and selling consumer products.

Advised Drone Technology Company on Trademark Matters

Advised startup drone technology company, SkyWard, on trademark protection issues, and subsequently filed applications with the USPTO for entire portfolio of trademarks.

Master Services Agreement for Technology Client

Negotiated Master Services Agreement for technology client's provision of software development, support and consulting services to ABC.

USPTO Trademark Trial and Appeal Board

Represented Sunstone Circuits, a manufacturing and design company in the printed circuit board industry, in the successful resolution and settlement of a trademark dispute before the USPTO Trademark Trial and Appeal Board.

Trademark Dispute Resolution

Represented a national provider of senior living and assisted living facilities in the resolution of a trademark dispute concerning the unique name of a local senior living facility.

Represented Applicant at USPTO Trademark Trial and Appeal Board

Successfully represented trademark applicant Fresh Hemp Foods Ltd. in an opposition proceeding before the USPTO's Trademark Trial and Appeal Board.

Defended Pet Toy Manufacturer

Successfully defended pet toy manufacturer against a motion for temporary restraining order and preliminary injunction based upon allegations of trademark infringement.

Purchase of Websites and Online Businesses

Represented purchaser in acquiring websites and online businesses with known intellectual property issues, licensing issues and regulatory compliance issues related to information privacy, security and consumer protection matters, and assisted purchaser in correcting such issues post-closing.

Counterfeiting and Patent Infringement Matter

Representing a Japanese manufacturer of office supplies against a U.S. retailer and Chinese manufacturer in a counterfeiting and design patent infringement matter.

Defense of Distributor Accused of Copyright and Trademark Infringement

Representing a U.S. distributor accused of infringing copyrights and trademarks arising from the purchase and importation of products from a Chinese manufacturer who was licensed to make and sell the products.

Somarakis, Inc. v. Dekker Vacuum Technologies

Representing an international manufacturer of industrial vacuum pumps against a competitor for misappropriating the client's trade secrets and using the trade secrets to interfere with the client's business. The case is filed in the United States District Court for the Middle District of Florida.

Trade Secrets

Tonkon Torp defended a client from accusations of trade secret misappropriation, ultimately obtaining a complete victory for the client on appeal. Short of trial, the Tonkon Team also helped defend a local manufacturer against a competitor’s claims for misappropriation of trade secrets and breach of a license agreement, knocking out a substantial portion of the competitor’s claims on summary judgment, and enabling the case to settle.

Trade Dress

When a local company expanded into a new market, a competitor accused our client of infringing on the competitor’s trade dress. Tonkon Torp defended our client’s packaging, prevailing on summary judgment, and then successfully defended this decision on appeal.

Services + Industries

Services + Industries

Contact us or sign up for emails on all of our news and events.

We encourage you to contact us if you have further questions about our firm or our experience. For your protection, we cannot represent you until we know that doing so will not create a conflict of interest. Accordingly, please do not send us any confidential or secret information about any matter that may involve you until you receive a written statement from us that we represent you (an engagement letter).

If after browsing this web site you are unsure which lawyer you should contact, please call us at 503.221.1440