Benefit Company Law

Tonkon Torp’s Benefit Company lawyers help organizations formally adopt governing documents that include commitment to a triple bottom line of social responsibility, economic prosperity, and environmental stewardship.

Under Oregon law, Benefit Company registration allows business owners to include in their company’s governing documents a commitment to provide a positive impact on society and the environment as primary business purposes.

Benefit Company status comes with expanded duties for directors, officers, and managers, and requires specific documentation regarding the purpose, accountability, and transparency of the organization. We’re particularly well positioned to assist our clients in these matters. Tonkon Torp corporate lawyer Jeff Cronn worked with a team of lawyers and legislators to craft the Oregon Benefit Company legislation, and attorney Justin Denton helped Rogue Creamery become the first Oregon business to register as a Benefit Company.

Our attorneys guide clients on what it means to become a Benefit Company and how to operate as one. We assist in preparing and filing appropriate charter documents with the State of Oregon, select a third-party standard to measure positive impact, and help with the publication of an annual benefit report. We also advise clients on potential exposure associated with Benefit Company status, whether due to complaints from customers, shareholder activists, the community, securities regulators, or others.

Search Name Keyword
Last Name Alpha Select
  • All
  • A
  • B
  • C
  • D
  • E
  • F
  • G
  • H
  • J
  • K
  • L
  • M
  • N
  • O
  • P
  • Q
  • R
  • S
  • T
  • U
  • V
  • W

Services + Industries

Services + Industries

Department

Department

Bar Admission

Bar Admission

Schools

Schools

Languages

Languages
Of Counsel
Darian
Stanford
503.802.2028
darian.stanford@tonkon.com
Litigation Paralegal
Larissa
Stec
503.802.2148
larissa.stec@tonkon.com
Partner
Jon
Stride
503.802.2034
jon.stride@tonkon.com
Associate
Samantha
Taylor
503.802.2042
samantha.taylor@tonkon.com
3462
Partner
Alex
Tinker
503.802.5734
alex.tinker@tonkon.com
Litigation Paralegal
Amanda
Ulrich
503.802.2106
amanda.ulrich@tonkon.com
Partner
Joseph
Voboril
503.802.2009
joe.voboril@tonkon.com
Associate
Alexandria
Wagner-Jakubiak
503.802.5748
alexandria.wagner@tonkon.com
Labor & Employment Paralegal
Caryl
Walker
503.802.2105
caryl.walker@tonkon.com
Partner
Frank
Weiss
503.802.2051
frank.weiss@tonkon.com
3503, 3539, 3541, 3545, 3547, 3551
Partner
Steven
Wilker
503.802.2040
steven.wilker@tonkon.com
Partner
Michael
Willes
503.802.5737
michael.willes@tonkon.com
3491, 3559
Partner
Jeffrey
Woodcox
503.802.2039
jeffrey.woodcox@tonkon.com
Associate
Timothy
Wright
503.802.2052
timothy.wright@tonkon.com
Partner
Zachary
Wright
503.802.2041
zach.wright@tonkon.com

Tonkon Torp Helps Create Oregon Benefit Companies

Tonkon Torp client Rogue Creamery became the first Oregon enterprise to become a Benefit Company on January 1, 2014, the date Oregon’s new law went into effect. Find details and more featured cases here.

Services + Industries

Services + Industries

Contact us or sign up for emails on all of our news and events.

We encourage you to contact us if you have further questions about our firm or our experience. For your protection, we cannot represent you until we know that doing so will not create a conflict of interest. Accordingly, please do not send us any confidential or secret information about any matter that may involve you until you receive a written statement from us that we represent you (an engagement letter).

If after browsing this web site you are unsure which lawyer you should contact, please call us at 503.221.1440.