Accountant & Professional Liability

Tonkon Torp’s accountant and professional liability team has a strong track record in state courts, federal courts, and before regulatory bodies. We’ve assisted clients on a wide range of issues, including the defense of securities law claims and secondary liability claims against accountants. Our firm’s internal resources and expertise allow us to achieve successful results in a cost-effective manner for a range of clients, including large national accounting firms and local or regional firms.

Search Name Keyword
Last Name Alpha Select
  • All
  • A
  • B
  • C
  • D
  • E
  • F
  • G
  • H
  • J
  • K
  • L
  • M
  • N
  • O
  • P
  • Q
  • R
  • S
  • T
  • U
  • V
  • W

Services + Industries

Services + Industries

Department

Department

Bar Admission

Bar Admission

Schools

Schools

Languages

Languages
Of Counsel
Darian
Stanford
503.802.2028
darian.stanford@tonkon.com
Litigation Paralegal
Larissa
Stec
503.802.2148
larissa.stec@tonkon.com
Partner
Jon
Stride
503.802.2034
jon.stride@tonkon.com
Associate
Samantha
Taylor
503.802.2042
samantha.taylor@tonkon.com
3462
Partner
Alex
Tinker
503.802.5734
alex.tinker@tonkon.com
Litigation Paralegal
Amanda
Ulrich
503.802.2106
amanda.ulrich@tonkon.com
Partner
Joseph
Voboril
503.802.2009
joe.voboril@tonkon.com
Associate
Alexandria
Wagner-Jakubiak
503.802.5748
alexandria.wagner@tonkon.com
Labor & Employment Paralegal
Caryl
Walker
503.802.2105
caryl.walker@tonkon.com
Partner
Frank
Weiss
503.802.2051
frank.weiss@tonkon.com
3503, 3539, 3541, 3545, 3547, 3551
Partner
Steven
Wilker
503.802.2040
steven.wilker@tonkon.com
Partner
Michael
Willes
503.802.5737
michael.willes@tonkon.com
3491, 3559
Partner
Jeffrey
Woodcox
503.802.2039
jeffrey.woodcox@tonkon.com
Associate
Timothy
Wright
503.802.2052
timothy.wright@tonkon.com
Partner
Zachary
Wright
503.802.2041
zach.wright@tonkon.com

Representative Matters

Board of Accountancy

We have defended accountants against complaints filed with the Oregon Board of Accountancy. These matters have included allegations of inadequate audit work, questioned tax advice, challenged billing practices and employee disputes.

City of West Linn v. Regional Accounting Firm

West Linn's finance director embezzled $1.4 million before her theft was discovered. We defended claims brought against the city's long-time outside auditor.

Dunstan v. Ernst & Young, LLP

We defended Ernst & Young in a negligent misrepresentation and securities case. Plaintiffs challenged the firm's audit work.

Graham v. Trullinger, et al.

We defended Deloitte & Touche LLP in a securities case. Plaintiffs' business, The Garden Grow Company, failed after acquisition of Deloitte's long-time client, the Chas. H. Lilly Co. (Lilly Miller). Plaintiffs challenged Deloitte's audit work.

Robinson v. Regional Accounting Firm

Tonkon Torp defended a $9 million professional malpractice claim. Our client provided accounting and tax services to the plaintiff over a 15 year period. After terminating the engagement, the plaintiff alleged that a substantial sum was missing. Tonkon Torp won summary judgment in our client's favor establishing that the firm had in fact provided an adequate accounting for plaintiff's funds.

Synectic Ventures, et al. v. Craig Berkman, et al.

Several accounting firms provided services to Craig Berkman's investment funds. When investors sued Berkman alleging that he took fund money, the accountants were also sued. Plaintiffs alleged that the accountants aided Berkman in hiding his theft.

Services + Industries

Services + Industries

Contact us or sign up for emails on all of our news and events.

We encourage you to contact us if you have further questions about our firm or our experience. For your protection, we cannot represent you until we know that doing so will not create a conflict of interest. Accordingly, please do not send us any confidential or secret information about any matter that may involve you until you receive a written statement from us that we represent you (an engagement letter).

If after browsing this web site you are unsure which lawyer you should contact, please call us at 503.221.1440