Investment Management

Our investment management attorneys represent clients from all aspects of the investment side of financial services.

We advise pooled investment funds and their managers on legal and corporate matters, as well as compliance issues. We also advise clients, both institutional and private, on the structure, organization, and offerings of private investment funds, including private equity funds, hedge funds, real estate funds, and funds of funds.

The legal, regulatory, and investment challenges within the dynamic investment sector require informed market intelligence. Our legal teams are regularly involved in various aspects of the investment management sector and are well and reliably versed on both current issues and pending changes.

Our investment management legal team advises on a wide range of investor clients, including:

  • Advising fund sponsors regarding investment specifics, structures, and other details, including regulatory issues;
  • Providing a full range of legal advice to private and institutional investors, including estate and tax advice, as well as other business or personal counsel. Our integrated approach draws on the strength and expertise of our entire firm as needed, to fully align our clients’ goals; and
  • Counseling family offices regarding all aspects of their business, including formation, investment matters, and changing regulatory/compliance issues.

We also provide a full range of legal services to our private investment fund clients, including:

  • Fund structure, formation, and documentation
  • Securities regulatory and compliance matters relating to fundraising and ongoing operational compliance
  • Tax and ERISA analyses
  • Federal and state laws and regulations
  • Marketing material review
  • Investor negotiations, including side letters and co-investment structures
  • Contracts with service providers
  • Manager structure
  • Fund transactions, including portfolio loans and investments, acquisitions, dispositions, co-investments, debt, and portfolio company representation

Our team’s experience in the investment management industry and with government regulators, as well as our ready access to colleagues within other practice areas, helps us provide practical, business-oriented counsel to our investment management clients.

If disputes arise, clients turn to our Financial Services Litigation team for assistance.

Search Name Keyword
Last Name Alpha Select
  • All
  • A
  • B
  • C
  • D
  • E
  • F
  • G
  • H
  • J
  • K
  • L
  • M
  • N
  • O
  • P
  • Q
  • R
  • S
  • T
  • U
  • V
  • W

Services + Industries

Services + Industries

Department

Department

Bar Admission

Bar Admission

Schools

Schools

Languages

Languages
Associate
Samantha
Taylor
503.802.2042
samantha.taylor@tonkon.com
Governmental Relations Coordinator
Isis
Thornton-Saunders
503.802.2163
isis.thornton-saunders@tonkon.com
Partner
Alex
Tinker
503.802.5734
alex.tinker@tonkon.com
Litigation Paralegal
Amanda
Ulrich
503.802.2106
amanda.ulrich@tonkon.com
Partner
Joseph
Voboril
503.802.2009
joe.voboril@tonkon.com
Associate
Alexandria
Wagner-Jakubiak
503.802.5748
alexandria.wagner@tonkon.com
Labor & Employment Paralegal
Caryl
Walker
503.802.2105
caryl.walker@tonkon.com
Of Counsel
Michele
Wasson
503.802.2111
michele.wasson@tonkon.com
3549
Partner
Frank
Weiss
503.802.2051
frank.weiss@tonkon.com
3503, 3539, 3541, 3545, 3547, 3551
Partner
Steven
Wilker
503.802.2040
steven.wilker@tonkon.com
Partner
Michael
Willes
503.802.5737
michael.willes@tonkon.com
3491, 3559
Partner
Jeffrey
Woodcox
503.802.2039
jeffrey.woodcox@tonkon.com
Associate
Timothy
Wright
503.802.2052
timothy.wright@tonkon.com
Partner
Zachary
Wright
503.802.2041
zach.wright@tonkon.com

Services + Industries

Services + Industries

Contact us or sign up for emails on all of our news and events.

We encourage you to contact us if you have further questions about our firm or our experience. For your protection, we cannot represent you until we know that doing so will not create a conflict of interest. Accordingly, please do not send us any confidential or secret information about any matter that may involve you until you receive a written statement from us that we represent you (an engagement letter).

If after browsing this web site you are unsure which lawyer you should contact, please call us at 503.221.1440.