Travel from India to the U.S. Restricted Starting May 4

By Melany SavittAlan PerkinsMelina LaMorticella, and Turid Owren

The Biden Administration issued a Proclamation on April 30, 2021, adding India to the list of COVID-related travel bans. Most temporary visa holders who have been physically present in India 14 days before seeking entry will not be admitted into the United States. Some people are exempt from the Proclamation. The Proclamation will take effect at 12:01 a.m. EDT on May 4 and will remain in effect until terminated by President Biden.

The following are examples of individuals who are exempt from the Proclamation:

  • U.S. citizens
  • U.S. lawful permanent residents
  • Spouses of U.S. citizens or lawful permanent residents
  • Parents or legal guardians of unmarried U.S. citizens or lawful permanent residents who are under the age of 21
  • Siblings of U.S. citizens or lawful permanent residents (all parties must be unmarried and under the age of 21)

This Proclamation brings the total number of countries subject to COVID-related travel bans to 33. Please see our earlier news alert, Biden Administration Executive Orders Impact International Travel, addressing other countries impacted by COVID-related travel bans.

Reminder: All airline or aircraft international travelers seeking to enter the United States, including U.S. citizens and lawful permanent residents, must now provide a negative COVID test performed no more than three days before departure (or documentation of recovery from COVID). Please see our prior news alert, Negative COVID-19 Test or Recovery Documentation Required of All U.S. Inbound Air Travelers, for additional details.

Posted in
Filed under