News Releases

The Best Lawyers in America ® 2009 Names 25 Tonkon Torp Attorneys

September 29, 2008
Twenty-five Tonkon Torp attorneys have been selected for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America 2009, the oldest and most respected peer review publication in the legal profession.

Six of the firm's attorneys were selected in more than one category of practice. Ten of the lawyers have been listed in Best Lawyers for 10 or more consecutive years, and three attorneys, Brian G. Booth, Albert N. Kennedy and Leon Simson, have been listed for 20 consecutive years.

New to the list this year are Tonkon Torp labor and employment attorney Robert L. Carey, government relations attorney Jack Isselmann, environmental lawyer Max M. Miller, Jr. and employee benefits lawyer Darcy M. Norville.

Additionally, Tonkon Torp was ranked number one in Oregon and number one in Portland in the following practice areas: alternative dispute resolution, banking law, bankruptcy and creditor-debtor rights law, and immigration law.

"We appreciate the recognition of our peers for the breadth and depth of professional excellence we offer clients in Oregon and beyond," said Michael M. Morgan, chairman of the firm's managing board. "Our aim is to be the best firm of our size in the country. To have 25 of our 75 attorneys - representing over one-half of our partners - named to this list is truly gratifying."

These Tonkon Torp partners were recognized in The Best Lawyers in America 2009. Those who have been on the list for 10 or more consecutive years are noted with an asterisk (*).

Administrative Law
Michael M. Morgan *

Alternative Dispute Resolution
Daniel H. Skerritt

Banking Law
Carol Dey Hibbs *
Kenneth D. Stephens *

Bankruptcy and Creditor-Debtor Rights Law
Albert N. Kennedy *
Leon Simson *

Commercial Litigation
William F. Martson, Jr.
Daniel H. Skerritt

Corporate Law
Owen D. Blank
Brian G. Booth *
Ronald L. Greenman *
Carol Dey Hibbs *
George C. Spencer *
Kenneth Stephens *

Employee Benefits Law
Darcy M. Norville

Energy Law
Michael M. Morgan *

Environmental Law
Max M. Miller, Jr.

Government Relations Law
Jack Isslemann

Immigration Law
Turid L. Owren

Intellectual Property Law
Vicki A. Ballou
Don H. Marmaduke

Labor & Employment Law
Robert L. Carey

Mergers & Acquisitions Law
Kurt W. Ruttum

Real Estate Law
Owen D. Blank
Morris J. Galen
Joseph S. Voboril *

Securities Law
Ronald L. Greenman *
Thomas P. Palmer
Kenneth D. Stephens *

Tax Law
Mark F. LeRoux
Ingolf Noto

Trust and Estate Law
John H. Rosenfeld *