Passports to be Required for Canada/Mexico Travel

April 20, 2005
The Department of State and the Department of Homeland Security have announced a Western Hemisphere Travel Initiative (Initiative) that will eventually require citizens of the United States, Canada, Mexico and Bermuda to carry passports for travel between the United States, Canada, Mexico, and the Caribbean.

The Intelligence Reform and Terrorism Prevention Act of 2004, signed into law December 17, 2004, mandates a plan that requires U.S. citizens and foreign nationals to present a passport, or other equally secure document*, to enter the United States. Under the Initiative, the requirements will be fully implemented by 2007.