News Releases

Intellectual Property Team Members Join International Trademark Association Committees

October 9, 2015
Tonkon Torp attorney Chris Erickson and paralegal Lisa Gabel have been appointed to committees of the International Trademark Association (INTA) for the 2016-2017 term.

Erickson is joining the Non-Traditional Marks Committee, which develops and advocates INTA's policy regarding the balanced protection of nontraditional trademarks (e.g., sound, color, trade dress). The committee monitors developments in treaties, cases, legislation, and regulation in various jurisdictions, in addition to completing analyses and proposing policy recommendations to INTA.

Gabel is joining the Trademark Administrators Committee, which develops educational programs and resources specifically designed for trademark administrators (TMAs). The committee develops content, identifies speakers and moderators, and supports materials development and program implementation.

Erickson is the chair of the firm’s Intellectual Property practice group, where he focuses on trademark protection, negotiation of technology and software license and purchase agreements, and helping clients with the valuation of their intellectual property assets. Gabel is a paralegal in the Intellectual Property practice group, specializing in trademark prosecution. She has over 25 years of experience in litigation and trademark administration.