News Releases

Anna Sortun Recognized as One of Portland’s Forty Under 40

June 30, 2017
Tonkon Torp partner Anna Sortun has been honored by the Portland Business Journal as one of its 2017 Forty Under 40 award recipients. The annual award recognizes influential business and community leaders in the greater Portland area who are under 40 years old. Judging was based on career accomplishments, business influence and leadership, and community and civic involvement.

Anna's many business accomplishments and her leadership skills, as well as her community and civic involvement, demonstrate her sustained effort to generate positive change in Oregon's business and legal communities. Some of the achievements that helped her to stand out from the 400 nominations submitted this year include:
  • Serving as lead trial counsel in more than a dozen trials, in state and federal court, such as a ground-breaking Fair Credit Reporting Act case.
  • Leading the defense's voir dire in a complex multi-party seven week jury trial and securing a complete victory for her client, Con-way, a $5.5 billion American multinational freight transportation company.
  • Winning the Multnomah Bar Association pro bono award of merit for her work for the Oregon Law Center that challenged funding restrictions for Oregon's legal aid services.
  • Representing dozens of pro bono clients at Southeast Legal Clinic and formerly serving as the Chair of the Pro Bono Subcommittee of the Oregon State Bar Committee on Federal Practice and Procedure.
  • Board service including: Emerge Oregon (2015-present); Photolucida (2012-2015); Northwest Dance Project (2005-2008).

Anna is a partner in the firm's Litigation Department. She represents businesses and individuals in a wide variety of disputes, including insurance coverage disputes and commercial and complex tort cases. In addition to her litigation practice, Anna advises corporate policyholders on the scope and availability of insurance coverage, the presentation of insurance claims, and the negotiation of settlements with insurance companies. She joins a handful of other Tonkon lawyers who have received this award in prior years, including David Forman (2004), Steven Wilker (2005), and Jeff Cronn (2008).